Friendship-whats it good for?

So this post is very different from my usual articles but felt it was worth a post. For all my life I have lived with the concept of quality over quantity. This extended to having a few good friends rather than lots of more shallow relationships.

I  have been recently let down by some of said friends and although I brushed it off as I do most things, secretly I was very let down.

One definition of friendship is mutual affection between people. Which made me think can you expect anything beyond this from a friend?

I think of the amazing people while travelling and have been reflecting on some personal characteristics. Do I get too emotionally attached to my friends? Am I too hard on people? In our busy mobile society are deep friendships worthwhile? Is my energy better spent on continually meeting new exciting people?

I think these questions beyond everything else I am learning will be the essential ones when rebuilding the life I want to live. Think of your own relationships, do they make you happy? do they add value? do you still want to be friends with this person?

 

Leave a Reply

